My almost 108 Sun Salutations or my Red Velvet Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting ( Vegan Friendly) / Mes presque 108 Salutations au soleil ou mes Cupcakes Red Velvet et glaçage au fromage frais ( vegan)

Red Velvet Cupcakes Vegan 1

Descendez pour la version française.

Last Saturday I went to Yoga in order to make 108 sun salutations for the Winter Solstice. I first said that I couldn’t make it because I thought that I couldn’t  do it and I was also working that day. But my Yoga Teacher convinced me and I am glad that she did. I couldn’t make it to 108 , I just made 78 because I had to leave the class early to go to work but next time I ‘ll do the 108 . I know now that I can do it. But I have to confess that the back of my thighs hurt so bad that it was truly  painful for me to walk or to try to sit down and get up the next days. But I am really glad I di dit anyway.  If you are curious about what a Sun Salutation A or Surya Namaskar A is, watch that very short video. If you are curious and want to learn more about the meaning of doing it in general , you can read this as well.

Saturday was some kind of a marathon day for me as I had to wake up early, walk the dog and then run to the yoga class under the rain. I did 78 sun salutations, then ran home, took a shower , ate and ran to work : last Saturday before  Christmas for 6 hours straight. Then I ran to the train station to pick up my brother’s friends for the surprise birthday party. Then we ran to my place to organize the birthday and did the surprise. Then we dropped them off to another train station and I finally came home to clean up everything before to go to sleep. Let me tell you that going to bed that night and sleeping was the best thing ever ! I keep collecting those kind of days/ weeks/months lately which is why I didn’t blogged much and is also why I am truly exausted.

Those Red Velvet Cupcakes were part of my Christmas Red Velvet Sweet Table.  I «  veganized » my Pomegranate Red Velvet Cupcakes recipe so I could bring it to work and because I really wantted to try the Tofutti « cream » cheese I bought  last time I was in Paris.  I was really curious about Tofutti and Soja margarine and I was really surprised how close the taste is from a dairy cream cheese frosting taste . My brothers friends and my co workers loved them. They thought that they were really good and light. I brought the cake pops made with cake scraps and leftover frosting  to my sun salutations class and they loved them as well ! You should really try this recipe : Best Red Velvet Recipe ever !

Red Velvet Cupcakes Vegan 4

Red Velvet Cupcakes  with Cream Cheese Frosting  (Makes 24 cupcakes ):

Red Velvet Cupcakes : ( Adapted from Baked Red Velvet Recipe ) :

Ingredients :

-       260g / 9.2 oz / 2 cups all-purpose flour

-       35g / 1.2 oz / 1/4 cup cornstach

-       1/2 Tbsp baking soda

-       2 tsp apple cider vinegar

-       2 tsp vanilla extract

-       1 tsp salt

-       1/2 tsp espresso powder

-       220g / 11.4 oz / 1 cup light brown sugar

-       113g / 4 oz / 1 stick of butter (or vegan margarine if vegan), room temperature

-       180g / 8.4 oz / 3/4 cup sour cream (vegan sour cream if vegan)

-       60g / 2.8 oz / 1/4 cup water

-       120g / 5.6 oz /1/2 cup pomegranate juice

-       30g / 1 oz / 1/4 cup Dutch-processed cocoa

-       1 Tbsp. red no-taste gel food coloring

Steps :

-       Preheat oven to 350°F (180°C). Line two 12 muffin pans cups with paper liners.

-       In a small saucepan, over low heat , bring the pomegranate juice to a boil. Remove from heat.

-       Add, espresso powder,  cocoa powder and  food coloring. Mix well. Set aside to cool.

-       In a medium bowl, whisk  and sift flour, corsnstach and salt together .

-       Stir sour cream, water and vanilla into the cooled cocoa mixture. Mix well until smooth.

-       In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, cream butter until smooth. Scrape down bowl and add sugar. Beat until mixture is light and fluffy, about 5 minutes.

-       With mixer on low, alternately beat in the flour mixture (in 3 parts) and the cocoa mixture (in 2 parts) to the butter / sugar mixture. Beat until incorporated.

-       In a small bowl, combine vinegar and baking soda and stir until baking soda dissolves; the mixture will fizz. Add to batter and stir until just combined.

-       Scrape sides of bowl . Fill each cupcake liner about 2/3 full with batter.

-       Bake 20 to 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

-       Remove from oven, transfer to a wire rack, and let cool for 10 minutes.

-       Remove cupcakes from pan, and let cool completely.

 Cream Cheese Frosting :

Ingredients :

-       55g / 2 oz / 1/4 cup organic  & non –hydrogenated shortening

-       85g / 3 oz / 3/4 stick butter (or vegan margarine if vegan)

-       226g / 8 oz  / 1 container Cream Cheese (or Tofutti if vegan)

-       375g / 13.2 oz / 3 cups confectioner’s sugar, sifted

-       1/2 Tbsp pure Vanilla extract

Steps :

-       In a bowl, cream the butter / margarine and shortening for a few seconds then add the cream cheese  / Tofutti and beat until  smooth and creamy.

-       On low speed, add the  3 cups sugar. Beat until well incorporated.

-       Add Vanilla extract.

-       Keep beating until light and fluffy.

-       Frost your cupcakes.

-       Eat a cupcake !!

Bon Appétit !

Laure

Red Velvet Cupcakes Vegan 5

Et en français maintenant:

Samedi dernier, je me suis rendue à un stage de Yoga dans le but de faire 108 Salutations au Soleil en l’honneur du Solstice d’Hiver. Tout d’abord j’ai refusé car je m’en sentais totalement incapable physiquement et de plus je travaillais l’après midi.  Mais ma prof de Yoga a réussi à me convaincre et je suis bien contente qu’elle l ‘ai fait. Je n’ai pas pu en faire 108. J’ai du m’arrêter à 78 car je devais quitter le cours plus tôt pour aller au travail.  Mais la prochaine fois j’en ferai 108 car je sais maintenant que j’en suis capable. Même si je vous avoue que les jours suivant, j’ai eut tellement mal à l ‘arrière des cuisses que marcher, m’asseoir et me relever étaient extrêmement douloureux. Mais je suis néanmoins ravie de l’avoir fait. Si vous êtes curieux, regarder cette très courte vidéo si vous voulez savoir à quoi correspond une Salutation au Soleil A ou Surya Namaskar A.

Samedi était vraiment une journée marathon pour moi. J’ai du me lever très tôt, promener mon chien puis courir sous la pluie jusqu’à mon stage de yoga où j’ai fait 78 salutations au soleil. Puis j’ai couru chez moi, pris une douche et mangé. J’ai ensuite couru jusqu’au travail  pour 6 heures d’affilées, dernier samedi avant Noël. Puis j’ai couru jusqu’à la gare pour aller chercher les amies de mon frère pour l’anniversaire surprise. Puis nous avons couru chez moi pour tout organiser. Une fois la surprise réalisée nous avons redéposé tout ce petit monde jusqu’à une autre gare puis je suis rentrée chez moi pour tout ranger avant d’aller me coucher. Laissez moi vous dire que me coucher et dormir cette nuit là fut juste quelque chose de merveilleux. Je collectionne les journées / semaines/mois de ce type ces derniers temps et c’est la raison pour laquelle je n’ai pas beaucoup bloggué ces derniers temps et également la raison pour laquelle je suis assez épuisée aussi …

Ces cupcakes Red Velvet faisaient partis de ma Sweet Table Red Velvet de Noël. J’ai « véganisé » ma recette  de Red Velvet Grenade de manière à pouvoir en amener au travail  et aussi parce que je voulais essayer le Tofutti : « fromage frais » à base de Tofu acheté lors de l un de mes derniers séjours Parisien. J’étais donc très curieuse quant à ce Tofutti et à la margarine de soja. Je dois avouer qu’à ma grande surprise ce glaçage « vegan » avait un goût vraiment très proche d’un glaçage au fromage frais classique et qu’il était vraiment délicieux. Les amis de mon frère, mon frère et mes collègues de travail les ont vraiment adorés, ils les ont trouvé très légers.  J’ai amené les cake pops réalisés avec les « restes » de gâteau et de glaçage  à mon cours de Yoga et même réaction ! Alors vous devriez vraiment essayer cette recette !

Red Velvet Cupcakes Vegan 2

Cupcakes Red Velvet  & Glaçage au fromage frais   (Pour 24 cupcakes ) :

Cupcakes Red Velvet à la Grenade: (Recette adapté de Baked : New frontiers in Baking ) :

Ingrédients :

-       260g de farine  T65 ou T55

-       1/2 CS de bicarbonate de soude alimentaire

-       2 cc de vinaigre de cidre

-       2 cc d’arôme naturel de vanille

-       1 cc de sel

-       1/2 cc de café instantané

-       220g de cassonade

-       35g de fécule de maïs

-       116g beurre doux ou de margarine vegan

-       180g de crème fraiche à 15%MG ou de crème d’amande bio

-       60g d’eau

-       120ml de jus de grenade

-       30g de cacao en poudre non sucré type Van Houten

-       1 CS de colorant rouge en gel ( ou liquide à défaut)

Steps :

-       Préchauffez votre four à 180°C. Disposez 24 caissettes en papier dans les alvéoles de deux moules à muffins.

-       Dans une petite casserole, à feu doux, portez le jus de grenade à ébullition. Retirez la du feu. Versez le cacao en poudre, le café instantané et le colorant rouge.  Mélangez bien. Laissez refroidir. Réservez.

-       Dans un récipient, tamisez et mélangez la farine, la fécule de maïs et le sel.

-       Incorporez  la crème, l’eau et la vanille au mélange jus de grenade/ cacao refroidi.

-       Battez le beurre (ou margarine) pendant une minute à vitesse moyenne, jusqu’à ce qu’il soit bien crémeux. Ajoutez le sucre progressivement et battez jusqu’à ce que le mélange soit pâle et léger, soit pendant 3 à 4 minutes.

-       Alternativement, en trois fois, incorporez les ingrédients secs et le mélange au cacao, en commençant et terminant par les ingrédients secs.

-       Une fois l’appareil juste amalgamé, éteignez votre batteur et continuez à la main (pour ne  pas risquer «  de trop mélanger »).

-       Mélangez le vinaigre de cidre et le bicarbonate de soude alimentaire. Le mélange va mousser, c’est normal.  Ajoutez le tout de suite à l’appareil.

-       Divisez l’appareil entre les caissettes, en les remplissant au 2/3 (utilisez une cuillère à glace  automatique si vous avez  c’est très pratique).

-       Enfournez  20 à 25 minutes ou bien jusqu’à ce que la pointe du couteau ressorte sèche.

-       Laisser refroidir les gâteaux sur une grille dans le moule.

-       Démoulez-les et laissez-les complètement refroidir sur cette même grille.

Glaçage au fromage frais :

Ingrédients :

-       55g d’huile de palme bio non hydrogénée

-       85 de beurre ou de margarine

-       226 g de Kiri bien froid (ou Tofutti)

-       375 g de sucre glace

-       1/2 CS d’extrait naturel de vanille

Étapes :

-       Crémez le beurre (ou margarine) et l’huile de palme bio quelques secondes à vitesse moyenne, ajoutez le Kiri ou Tofutti (bien froid) et mélangez jusqu’à obtenir un mélange bien lisse.

-       Ajoutez le sucre progressivement et battez jusqu’à ce que le mélange soit bien homogène.

-       Incorporez l’extrait naturel de vanille.

-       Mélangez jusqu’à ce que la crème soit  bien lisse et légère.

-       Glacez vos cupcakes.

-       Mangez- les !!

Bon Appétit !

Laure

Red Velvet Cupcakes Vegan 3

Comments

  1. Definitely trying these over the weekend.
    Thanks!

  2. Hey there would you mind stating which blog platform you are utilizing? I am preparing to begin my own blog within the near future but I am getting a tough time making a decision in between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I inquire is simply because your layout seems different then most blogs and I am searching for something unique. P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to inquire!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Red velvet lovers out there will surely love these Christmas theme red velvet, which is made out of pomegranate juice and cocoa. There is also a hint of espresso with every bite to enhance the taste of pomegranate and cocoa. The frosting on top is made out of cream cheese, which you all know is mouthwatering. Each cupcake is topped with snowflakes design to match the perfect winter season today. Source Buttercream & Chantilly Factory […]

  2. […] Red velvet lovers out there will surely love these Christmas theme red velvet, which is made out of pomegranate juice and cocoa. There is also a hint of espresso with every bite to enhance the taste of pomegranate and cocoa. The frosting on top is made out of cream cheese, which you all know is mouthwatering. Each cupcake is topped with snowflakes design to match the perfect winter season today. Source Buttercream & Chantilly Factory […]

  3. […] Red velvet lovers out there will surely love these Christmas theme red velvet, which is made out of pomegranate juice and cocoa. There is also a hint of espresso with every bite to enhance the taste of pomegranate and cocoa. The frosting on top is made out of cream cheese, which you all know is mouthwatering. Each cupcake is topped with snowflakes design to match the perfect winter season today. Source Buttercream & Chantilly Factory […]

  4. […] Red velvet lovers out there will surely love these Christmas theme red velvet, which is made out of pomegranate juice and cocoa. There is also a hint of espresso with every bite to enhance the taste of pomegranate and cocoa. The frosting on top is made out of cream cheese, which you all know is mouthwatering. Each cupcake is topped with snowflakes design to match the perfect winter season today. Source Buttercream & Chantilly Factory […]

Leave a Reply

