Back in the air or my Ricotta Carrot Cake Whoopie Pies filled with Ricotta Cream Cheese Frosting / De retour dans les airs ou mes Whoopie Pies Carottes Ricotta façon Carrot Cake et son « glaçage » Ricotta Cream Cheese.

Descendez pour la version française.

I’m finally back in the air. I started my « summer » 6 months contract this week. I’m really happy to be back at work, even though I’m exausted. The first week is always the most  tiring as my body needs to get used again to be back in the air. That means feeling a bit sick in the plane and lots of sleep to catch. I had several night flight too. Hopefully no jetlag as we don’t go far.

Of course I had lots of food that I shouldn’t have. It’s really difficult for me when I work to keep eating « healthy ». I still don’t fit my uniform as I used to so it’s not really comfortable … But well I will have 4 days  off later this week which means baking and .. running I guess ..  I know what you think I could take my running shoes with me and do sport when I’m away but it’s just that when you leave for  a several days and have a tiny suitcase… Well it takes too much space …

Before to leave last week I spent my whole day in the kitchen  trying to deal with the stuff that the Boyfriend wouldn’t deal with when I won’t here. So I made homemade ricotta cheese for the first time … Which was so easy and so good ( I had whole milk, cream and buttermilk to use so that was perfect).  With the whey I baked bread as well. Then I had carrots that were slowly dying in my fridge.

So I decided to bake Ricotta Carrot Whoopie pies !  I love love Carrot cake. I loved those whoopies, plus they were really big ! The funny thing was that usually the Boyfriend doesn’t like carrot cake that much, but while I was taking the pictures , he was like «  Can I have it now ? Are you done yet ? Why is it taking you so long ? No one would notice if I eat one ! »… He loved them. I wasn’t expecting that. He had lots to eat when I was gone.

I couln’t resist throwing in some maple sugar, maple syrup and pecans as well, sorry,  I  just can’t help it .They are moist, tasty and simply delicious ! You really should have one. Or two.

Ricotta Carrot Cake Whoopie Pies filled with Ricotta Cream Cheese Frosting  ( Yield about 12 « big » Whoopie Pies )

Ricotta Carrot Cake Whoopie Pies :

Ingredients :

–       2 large eggs

–       256g/ 9 oz / 2  cups all-purpose flour

–       1/2 tsp baking soda

–       1/2 tsp baking powder

–       1 tsp salt

–       2 tsp ground cinnamon

–       220g / 7,7 oz / 1 cup maple sugar or light brown sugar

–       112 g / 4 oz / 1 stick of butter, room temperature

–       125g / 8 oz /1 cup fresh whole ricotta cheese, drained

–       2 tsp vanilla

–       100g / 3.5 oz / 1 cup pecans, toasted and chopped

–       300g / 10,6 oz / 2 cups  shredded carrotts  (about 4 medium)

Steps :

–       Preheat the oven to 350°F (180°C).

–       Spread the pecans in a single layer on parchment paper on  a baking sheet.

–       Bake them for 10 minutes, until they are light brown and fragrant. Check the nuts frequently and stir them to ensure even toasting. Cool them prior to chop them. Set aside.

–       Line 4 baking sheets  ( or 2 depending of the size) with parchment paper.

–       Sift and whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, ground cinnamon and salt in a medium bowl; set aside.

–       In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar  until light and fluffy.

–       Add ricotta cheese  and vanilla extract. Mix until combined.

–       Mix in the eggs and beat several minutes on low speed until the mixture is smooth.

–       Stir in the dry ingredients in 3 additions, mixing well after each one (scrape any unmixed ingredients from the side of the bowl with a rubber spatula).

–       Stir in the shredded carrots and the pecans.

–       Using and ice cream scoop,  arrange 6 equal amounts of cookie dough on each prepared baking tray. about 1 or 2 inches apart,

–       Bake in the preheated oven for 15 to 20 minutes.

–       Leave the cookies to cool for 5 minutes on the trays  before turning out onto a wire cooling rack to cool completely.

Ricotta Cream Cheese Frosting :

Ingredients :

–       55g / 2 oz / 1/2 stick of butter, room temperature but still lightly cool

–       112g / 4 oz  / Cream Cheese (straight out from the fridge)

–       75g / 2.6 oz / 1/3 cup fresh ricotta cheese, drained

–       312g / 11 oz / 2 1/2  cups confectioner’s sugar, sifted

–       2 tsp Maple Syrup

Steps :

–       In a bowl, cream the butter for a few seconds then add the cream cheese and beat until  smooth and creamy. Add Ricotta Cheese and maple syrup .

–       On low speed, add the  icing sugar. Beat until well incorporated.

–       Keep beating until light and fluffy.

Assembly :

–       Pipe or spread  filling onto the flat sides of half of the whoopies and top with remaining half  whoopie about the same  size.

–       Eat a whoopie pie !!

Bon Appétit !

Laure

Et en français maintenant:

He oui me voilà enfin de retour dans les airs ! J’ai commencé mon contrat de 6 mois de ma saison d’été cette semaine. Je suis vraiment ravie mais épuisée. La première semaine est toujours la plus fatigante car mon corps a besoin de besoin de se réhabituer à être maltraité : jambes lourdes, mal au cœur et horaires décalés. De plus j’ai fait plusieurs vols de nuit. Heureusement que l’on ne va pas loin et que je n’ai pas à ajouter un décalage horaire quelconque.

Bien sur j’ai mangé beaucoup de choses que je n’aurai pas du. C’est vraiment difficile de faire attention lorsque je travaille. Je ne rentre toujours pas «  complètement » dans mon uniforme ce qui est donc loin d’être confortable. Mais bon je vais avoir quatre jours de repos la semaine prochaine ce qui me permettra de faire des gâteaux et de « courir ».  Je sais ce que vous vous demandez. Mais pourquoi je n’emmène pas mes baskets ? He bien cela prend trop de place dans ma valise minuscule lorsque je pars une semaine. C’est déjà suffisamment difficile de tout faire rentrer dedans hein …

Avant de partir la semaine dernière j’ai passé une journée dans ma cuisine à m’occuper des « ingrédients » qui arrivaient en fin de vie dans mon frigo et mes placards. J’ai fait de la ricotta pour la première fois, ce qui s’est avéré extrêmement simple et délicieux ! (il me restait du lait entier, de la crème fraiche entière et du lait ribot à écouler, c’était donc parfait). Avec le petit lait j’ai fait du pain et enfin j’ai décidé d’utiliser les carottes qui étaient en train de mourir dans mon bac à légumes.

Alors j’ai décidé de faire des Whoopies façon carrot cake à la ricotta. J’adore le carrot cake. J’ai adoré ces whoopies. En plus elles étaient énormes ! Ce qui m’a beaucoup amusé  c’est qu’en temps normal Mon Cœur ne raffole pas trop du Carrot Cake mais cette fois ci il s’est montré très impatient d’y goûter et n’a pas arrêté de m’embeter pendant que je prenais mes photos «  Est ce que je peux en manger un maintenant ? Mais personne ne verra qu’il en manque un sur la photo ! Bon tu as toujours pas fini de prendre tes photos là ? ». Il les a adoré et je ne m’y attendais vraiment pas ! Ça tombait plutôt bien parce qu’il en restait pas mal quand je suis partie.

Je n’ai pas pu résisté. J’ai rajouté du sirop d’érable, du sucre d’érable et des noix de pécan …  Ces whoopies sont tout simplement délicieux, ils sont moelleux et épicés à souhait. Vous devriez vraiment en manger un. Ou deux.

Whoopie Pies Carottes et Ricotta façon Carrot Cake  et son « glaçage » Ricotta Cream Cheese (Pour environ  12 « grosses » Whoopie Pies )

Ricotta Carrot Cake Whoopies:

Ingrédients :

–       2 œufs, gros

–       256g farine T55 ou T65

–       1/2 cc de bicarbonate de soude alimentaire

–       1/2 cc de levure chimique

–       1 cc de sel

–       2 cc de cannelle moulue

–       220g de cassonade ou de sucre d’Érable

–       112 g beurre mou

–       125g de ricotta, égouttée

–       2 cc  d’extrait de vanille

–       100g de noix de pécan

–       300g de carottes râpées

Étapes :

–       Préchauffez votre four à 180°C .

–       Étalez les noix de pécan  en une seule couche sur du papier sulfurisé sur une plaque à pâtisserie. Enfournez les 10 minutes, jusqu’à ce qu’elle brunissent légèrement  et commencent à être odorantes. Surveillez les bien et remuez les un peu de temps en temps si nécéssaire, pour qu’elles soit torréfiées uniformément.  Laissez les refroidir avant de les hâcher. Réservez.

–       Garnissez quatre plaques à pâtisserie de papier sulfurisé.

–       Tamisez et mélangez ensemble les ingrédients secs : farine, levure chimique, bicarbonate de soude alimentaire, cannelle et sel. Réservez.

–       Battez le beurre pendant une minute à vitesse moyenne, jusqu’à ce qu’il soit bien crémeux. Ajoutez le sucre progressivement et battez jusqu’à ce que le mélange soit pâle et léger. Incorporez la ricotta et la vanille.

–       Ajoutez les oeufs. Battez de nouveau jusqu’à obtenir un mélange homogène.

–       Puis  versez en trois fois les ingrédients secs, en mélangeant bien entre chaque ajout de manière à bien incorporez tous les ingrédients secs (N’hésitez pas à bien racler les parois du récipient).

–       Enfin, ajoutez et répartissez bien dans la pâte les carottes  râpées et les noix de pécan, grossièrement hachées et torréfiées.

–       À l’aide une cuillère à glace, prélevez de la pâte  et répartissez là sur les plaques à pâtisseries. Espacez les  tas de pâte d’environ 3 à 5 cm.

–       Enfournez  les 15 minutes à 20 minutes.

–       Laissez les refroidir 5 minutes sur la plaque puis transférez les sur une grille.

–       Laissez les refroidir complètement.

Glaçage Ricotta Cream Cheese :

Ingrédients :

–       55g de beurre mou mais encore « frais »

–       112g de Kiri bien froid (au autre Cream Cheese de votre choix)

–       75g de ricotta, bien égouttée

–       312g de sucre glace

–       2 cc de sirop d’Érable

Étapes :

–       Crémez le beurre quelques secondes à vitesse moyenne, ajoutez le Kiri (bien froid) et mélangez jusqu’à obtenir un mélange bien lisse. Incorporez la ricotta et le sirop d’érable.

–       Ajoutez le sucre progressivement et battez jusqu’à ce que le mélange soit bien homogène.

–       Mélangez jusqu’à ce que la crème soit  bien lisse et légère.

Assemblage des Whoopies :

–       À l’aide d’une poche à douille ou d’un couteau, répartissez le glaçage sur la face plane d’un des biscuits et placez un autre biscuit de taille équivalente par dessus.

–       Mangez Les tous  !!

Bon Appétit !

Laure

Comments

  1. Mmm these look sooo delicious! I’m saving your recipe! Beautiful photos.

    Like

  2. love that you used ricotta in the frosting! these look incredible!

    Like

  3. Wow, love this idea!

    Like

  4. Wonderful pies! I just adore your photos! 🙂

    Like

  5. Littany says:

    Just made a batch – husband said it is the best sweet I’ve ever made! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!

    Like

  6. Just made some and they are incredible! My new go-to cookie when I want to show off 🙂 Thank you!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. […] / ricotta carrot cake whoopie pies 2 / pumpkin spice coffee creamer 3 / butternut and feta […]

    Like

  2. […] Ricotta carrot cake whoopie pies from Buttercream and chantily factory […]

    Like

Leave a comment